Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Some Days You Just Get Lucky!

I returned to work today feeling generally much better than the last couple of days, and at lunchtime needed to go to a nearby small supermarket.
In the car park I noticed what looks like my favourite Rowan. I decided that as I may be going out this evening as usual for a Wednesday (I'll see later once I get home if I still feel like it), grabbing a blip of the Rowan may be a good thing to do. I took some shots of some clusters of berries from different angles, then suddenly noticed something from the corner of my eye on one cluster - a Shield Bug. A handsome beast too. Bonus! On closer inspection I realised that there were actually 2 of them - double bonus!
So my blip today is the berries of Rowan (Sorbus Aucuparia) 'Joseph Rock' with 2 Hawthorn Shield Bugs (Acanthosoma haemorroidale)
Although the Rowan has the yellow berries typical of 'Joseph Rock', the foliage is only just starting to turn - I may have to go back later to blip it's incredible, blazing Autumn foliage (the best of all Rowans IMHO).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.