Global Thermonuclear War

DEFCON 2 for a little while around these parts last night. Pretty much all settled down now thankfully.

After very little sleep though, it's been a day of lounging in front of the TV. Luckily there's been some watchable movies on to while away the hours. Euan and I flopped here and marvelled at 1983 computer technology in WarGames as I tried to explain how back in the early eighties when Reagan/Thatcher and Brezhnev/Gorbachev were doing their utmost to kick off World War III we were frequently reminded that this was a potential reality (I remember the BBC's own Threads* drama on TV scaring me shitless at times) and wondering if I could make it to the caves up in the Ochil Hills with as many tins of beans as I could carry if the four minute warning ever came. Thankfully, he's never had that sort of thing worry his young and impressionable mind.

WarGames was followed by the still classy Goonies. Sloth's "Hey you guys!" line is up there with the best of them and it's a movie just made for Sunday afternoons.

After all that, and some of the Hairy Biker's baked chicken curry it'll be time for a little nap I feel.

Going back to DEFCON 5 now.

*Just watched Threads again. Still powerful stuff, still sent shivers down my spine.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.