Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Edinburgh from the Castle

A view from one of the canons on the Forewall Battery. The Scott Monument is in direct line of fire. A glorious day, with panoramic views across the city and beyond.

After joining Historic Scotland in the summer, we decided we must visit some of our main attractions. Years since we had been here. We viewed The Honours of Scotland : The Scottish Crown Jewels, toured the Royal Palace and Great Hall and spent time in the impressive National War Memorial designed by the architect Robert Lorimer. Having been in Poland just two weeks ago, memories of the horrors of war were still fresh in my mind, and I found the visit to this Memorial very moving.

I have now posted my blips from Poland, although the image for Day 2 will be changed as I need permission for the one I really want to use. Entries start here.

SF

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.