Socks!

I had been pining for the fjords socks you see lying here on my unmade bed. (I made it shortly after this photo... I'm working on keeping my windows open during these sunny days and my apartment looking lovely thankyouverymuch.) And they arrived, two months ahead of schedule. A win! They're so cool. And they're smartwool. (my favorite.) I know, they're just socks, okay? I get it. No big deal. Except that I study like 18 hours a day and socks in my chilly apartment are a necessity. So... socks. Yeah, makes sense.

Today was a beautiful Sunday. Really missing going to church though. Next Sunday.. I'm there. Promise. I feel like there's a huge emptiness and it's because I haven't found a community here yet. I'm not going to complain about it - it's 100% my fault and my responsibility.. I just can't ignore this feeling anymore.

So in my blip for yesterday, I ventured a tiny bit into talking about memory... I've been slightly annoyed lately by what my brain has decided to recall as of late. I don't fully understand all the processes though...
The entorhinal cortex (involved in memories associated with olfaction (sense of smell), long-term potentiation of memory, short term memory, working memory, hippocampal lesions affecting long term memory but not remote memory or short term memory. It's absolutely fascinating. The cases presented have been extremely interesting. Really makes me appreciate this brain of mine... and also makes me want to get MRI scans and some biopsies, just for funsies.
I wonder if I'm part of the 95% of people whose dominant language hemisphere is on the left. I wonder how many synapses are being used for absolutely worthless information - like lyrics to songs that I cannot stand. (I know there have got to be thousands.) I wish I could selectively re-purpose some of my synapses to remember other things... and maybe remember less some things that make me breathe in sharply or wince at the thought. I guess ultimately it is my choice to remember some things more than others.. depending on how much effort I put in to storing it long term. Memories are amazing. Their retrieval is incredible... I'm just sitting here in awe of what my brain is holding at all times. And I'm also praying that I can retrieve the information I need tomorrow morning for my exam.

To relax, to sleep, to dream.

Sweet dreams, bliplandia. xoxo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.