a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Sick??

This morning, Jack seemed a bit 'off'...he didn't have much of an appetite, and didn't seem quite right. He went off to school, and I met a friend for coffee. I kept checking my phone, because I just had a feeling the school was going to call.

When we finished our coffee, I headed to a nearby store and had a few things in my hand to buy when the phone rang. The school nurse.

Jack was stomach sick in class, and was running a mild fever. I put back what I was going to buy and headed to school to pick him up. When the nurse brought him out to me, he looked pale and glassy-eyed. He started to get upset as he said, "but Mom! I don't want to be sick....Friday is your birthday, and you are supposed to go out to lunch with Auntie Mel and we are supposed to go over to Dannys house to play guitar and drums!" I assured him that my birthday will still happen, and that we can always postpone the other things to another day if he is still sick.

When we got home, he cuddled up with me on the couch, under his baby blanket and he just relaxed. Within a half hour, he was hungry and had some plain noodles. He is still a bit warm, but says his stomach is fine. In fact, he said he is hungry for dinner now!

Daddy will do the snuggling now, as I am getting ready to leave for work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.