LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

A gift...

This was! I've had a lovely day out in Pitlochry with my friend Jo. We had lunch in the Auld Smiddy Inn and it was lush! Really great food, brilliant service and a lovely wood burning fire.

Then we wandered up over the dam and down to the theatre with the view to going back over the swing bridge, neither of us were relishing the prospect! I remember going to Pitlochry as a kid on the September weekend with my folks. They made us walk for miles and miles! I seem to remember giving up one time and Mum going to get the car to come back and pick us up.

The dam is a bit scary, the river was really high, they must have had a load of rain up there lately cause there seemed to be water logged fields all over the place! I saw the ladder too, I can't quite believe that salmon actually have the sense to go up there and I'm definitely making a plan to go back at the right time to witness it!

I never liked the swing bridge then and indeed now there is no change. It made me feel slightly sick when it moved and I realised there were people coming over behind us. We stopped at the other side and waited for them to pass so I could take a photo of the bridge with no-one on it. I'd taken two shots and the heron landed (at least I think it's a heron) so in the name of blip I went back onto the bridge and just kept going closer and pressing the button... I think I probably could have got even closer before it flew off but with a huge dog coming the other way I guess he wasn't taking any chances.

Made me very happy! So my original planned blip of the swing bridge is a fail but I'm very chuffed with the alternative! We had a lovely day, the weather was great if a little chilly. We played on the swings (yes I realise we're way too old for the kids park but it's not like we threw any kids off them first!) Had a mooch round the shops in Pitlochry and decided to make regular Sunday days out in future.

It's even better BIGGER!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.