LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Cheeky chops...

Is not a boy squirrel as I thought... she's a girl!!

I decided to wander into town and see if I could take some people shots. It was so busy, everyone bustling about and it was blowing a gale, no-one seemed to stop long enough to take a decent picture. I wandered along Princes Street which they appear to have cleared of tram works, I presume for the festive period so there were people everywhere. I sat on a bench for a while, watching the world go by.

People are ridiculous when they're shopping... actually when I say people, I mean women. Sorry girls but surely, if you're going to shop till you drop, you'd wear something decent on your feet wouldn't you? The amount of women wandering about in high heels with a load of bags? Why would you do that? I know I'm a little bit glued to my Converse just now but really... shopping and high heels only work when you're buying them!

I gave up with the attempts to take photos of people and wandered along to the office to pick up my little fan heater... I will be warm tonight! As I was that far along town and in the office, where I keep my bag of nuts, I decided it would be rude not to pop in and see if Cheeky Chops was going to make an appearance. Well, no sooner had I gone to my spot and sat down there he she was! His Her pals had followed and they weren't being so easily told today, usually they're chased... I mean it's not like I have enough nuts to feed an army of squirrels or anything!! Sucker!! There's some battle scars visible, hence the close up of the bald patch round her eye. Fighting over a million nuts no doubt!

Glad I went though and glad that he she came back! No sign of man with dog but a family with five kids came in and chased the squirrels too. What is with that? I don't know if I'm just a bit strange but I wouldn't have done that as a kid, I'd be still and hope they'd come over to me, much the same as I am now. I have a thing with animals, I like them and they like me. My Dad told me that when we used to go down to Liz and John's when they had the farm, John told me that the dogs were working dogs and not to go too close as they weren't for petting. Apparently I went out ahead of John when he was going out there and by the time he and my Dad arrived, I was in the shed with the dogs and they were lying on the floor letting me rub their tummies! It's two years ago today that Liz died.

I see a guy in the cemetery sometimes, he works with the Church. He came over to me today and we had a chatter, he had a pocket full of monkey nuts. I told him about the guy with the dog and he said he'd look out for him. Dogs are allowed in provided they're on leads. With any luck he'll catch him red handed. Anyway... he told me that Cheeky Chops has had babies so indeed he is a she! I thought they'd be hibernating soon, she keeps hiding nuts in the ground, eats five, buries twenty. I hope they don't dig too deep, given their surroundings. Donald (the guy) was very pleasant and had lots to say. I like people who chat to strangers. He's a stonemason to trade. I wonder if he makes gravestones?!

So I'm home now, fire is on, heater is ready in the bedroom and I'm having bangers 'n mash with gravy for dinner! Tomorrow I'm off up to Pitlochry for the day with my friend Jo from work. I'm sure to get a portrait tomorrow, she loves having her picture taken!

I like the weekends! My borrowed lens is ace. How typical is it that I'm doing close ups for my blips?! *rolls eyes*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.