The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Cardiff Rocking Robin

I didn't actually intend to blip another Robin today, but sometimes you can only go with what you have got.

I went down to Forest Farm Nature Reserve for a couple of hours. The visit started brilliantly with a Grey Wagtail on the river by the entrance to the walk. As much as it was gloriously sunny, the sun is very low in the sky now, and makes photography difficult on river banks. I didn't get a shot of the wagtail that was any good as I couldn't get shutter speeds up high enough.

Only a few paces later I saw a kingfisher perched on a branch. The one problem with Forest Farm it is a dog walking paradise, and the there are so many people wandering around, you have to get a bit of luck to get a bird perched and no one scaring it off. Alas I had no such luck on that either!

On the plus side, it meant I stood and watched for a while. The kingfisher did come back, and I did watch it dive and catch a fish, a first for me. It was quite spectacular, backlit by the sun.

Other than that it was pretty quiet there. Other notables was a couple of bullfinches and a green woodpecker. Since I broke my green woodpecker hoodoo a few weeks back I have seen four!

A few more photos can be seen this flickr set. I almost used the Buzzard photo.

I had to get back, as I had a meeting with the solicitor in work to sign my life away. The last t was crossed today, and the dot will be put on the i in the next week. We have been given our official finish date, which will be next Friday at the latest.

Back in work tomorrow for my last set of shifts! The end of an era begins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.