Falling

A morning of geekery presenting some work to some statisticians and researchers. The stuff I rambled on about over a year ago. I'm still doing it. Not all the time. It's more of a hobby really. Yesterday I made a nice map of child poverty in Edinburgh (no one seems to know that 35% of children in Scotland live below the official definition of poverty. Well, someone knows. HMRC know and they know where they live but don't seem to do much about it. The area with the highest rate has over 85% of children in poverty. Do they know it's Christmas?) and then overlaid my own estimate of child poverty and was (worryingly) delighted to find that I got it almost perfect even though the data I used didn't have any measures of child poverty. It's like statistical sorcery. And oddly satisfying.

Anyway, wandered back up to the office from Leith seeing as it was a nice sunny day and irritated myself to death by going into shops, seeing things that would make good Christmas presents and then remembering that I'd left the office without my wallet. By the third time, it had embedded itself in my brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.