Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Lazy way to end the year....

Well, a shot of my dinner - whoop de doo!

We left Cardiff just after 7 this morning to get to Sheffield for lunch and a 1pm kick off (trust them to move it from 3pm the day I start out in a different country!). Made it in time, sat down just as the players were coming out. Phew! A terrific game, controlled by the Blades from start to finish until 2 minutes before the finish, with a resounding 3-1 scoreline. Looking good today - passing, scoring and everything :-D

Hollows are tired after a late night last night at the wedding reception and hours of driving - and so is Mrs H who was in bed by eight!!!

So I've just made myself a sweet potato, chorizo and goat's cheese pastry type thing and am settling down for a sober night of Dirty Harry movies on TCM. Party on dude :-|

Never been a fan of New Year's Eve to be honest. In my drinking days I'd either encounter trouble like a magnet or have a stinking hangover. Don't miss that.
Plus I don't really get why it's on Jan 1st. (ASD type points coming up).....Every day the Earth has returned to the same relative point on its orbit a year on. So in that respect every day is a new year. Secondly, in our society our years are counted from the birth of Christ - well December 25 is the date they made up to sucker up to the existing religions and their traditions this is celebrated on so why isn't that New Year too? Tomorrow is strictly 2012 years and 1 week. Lastly, leaving religion and heading to science...wouldn't a solstice be a bit more, well, tidy and sensible choice for a New Year start? Or is that just a bit OCD?
Might have to do a bit of Wikipedia trawling to find out, bet it was either some Roman Emperor, Pope or King that decided it ....somebody with too much power anyway.

Anyway, you can tell I am alone, tired and bored. I'll shut up now. Have a happy randomly chosen day Eve tonight, be safe and happy.

I have a date with Clint Eastwood.... I feel lucky (punk)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.