Buying garlic

LoJ and son C at Clermont l'Hérault market this morning, the first of the new year but it was busy and lively on a mild sunny morning. It always surprises me that C, living in London with a big six-days-a week street market just metres from his house, always takes garlic back with him....it was very nice garlic and I bought some too. After an hour or so wondering around in the sun we had lunch in the restaurant whose blue awning is in the background of this shot.

I've made a kind of new year's resolution to try new ways of taking photos, new to me that is, and this morning I was deliberately ignoring balconies and shadows, although I couldn't resist a few. I feel challenged by a conversation I had with a friend the other day about a street photography book he'd had for Christmas which included photos taken in France and Japan (where there are similar laws about privacy). Some photographers manage it without showing people's faces....this is one of my first attempts (risking one or two recognisable faces) and, of course, it's easier if you start with people you know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.