Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

It's Good to be King (Parrot)

I went for a bit of a wander on my way to the train station after work. Strolling along a small road lined with bush I heard quite a few birds, and rosellas flew over my head - managing to avoid my camera (which had my short lens affixed anyway). Then, as I was just about to walk off, I spied this splendid fellow snacking away. He didn't seem bothered in the slightest by my presence, and let me fire off many shots - adjusting settings frantically, in shutter priority, intelligent auto, and manual modes, trying to get the colour in the low light, against the whited-out sky. ;-)

Unprocessed version here. In Filterstorm Pro I cropped and enlarged, and then sharpened. I pulled down the luminance curve a wee bit and used a mask to get everything around the parrot. Then I pulled up the red curve, and applied that just to Mr Parrot's red plumage. And his dinner. Then I added an 'overlay' layer, with about 25% opacity.

Large version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.