Louvre by Night--Reflected

Our guest Gregory arrived from London for lunch, and he and I then headed off to the Louvre . We spent our time on early stuff: French, Netherlandish and German (tying in nicely with what I'd seen in the few days we were in Germany).  At the end we had barely an hour in a temporary exhibition of French drawings.

After we were tossed out,  I took this shot of I.M. Pei's brillant pyramid holding my camera just above the water of the adjacent pool (any higher and a series  of bright lights would have shone just above the dark line above the water, spoiling the shot).

I met Gregory around 1999--we were both working for Deutsche Bank; he was in London and I was in New York working a graveyard shift (don't ask), and we soon became phone pals, talking about art.  Eventually we met face to face. He is the best person that I know to go to a museum with. He didn't make his customary visit to see us in Paris last winter because he was in Libya (!) teaching English to Libyans.  After the Arab spring erupted, he eventually was evacuated back to London.  (More about Gregory in the next day or two.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.