Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Paradise by way of Kensal Green

Leanne (with Scampi the dog) and Hazel are setting up a vintage clothing sale in the pub named after the Chesterton poem in Kensal Rise.

I'm taking a walk from my home down Ladbroke Grove to Portobello and Notting Hill, something I haven't had time to do for a while.

At first I am alarmed by the lack of stallholders up at the Golborne Road end of Portobello. I stopped and talked to Robbie Blue Eyes, who told me the absent traders didn't pay for permanent pitches and therefore stayed away in quiet times like January.

Further down there was more activity and I met Steve Ullathorne who is part of the photographic club I used to be a member of, selling his work opposite the Spanish Supermarket.

Nearer Notting Hill activity increased even more until the street was heaving with a mixture of locals and the odd tourist with a fresh purchase. The ecclecticism of the market has always seemed unique to this particular part of West London.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.