Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Kodak

To begin with I've never been a Kodak man, I can't wax lyrically about the Kodakchromes or whatever or the emulsions of the TMax films; I've always been Ilford and Fuji, that's really it. As digital moved on and I did less and less film then Kodak as a brand seemed to disappear to me. Fuji was always there or there abouts with their cameras and Ilford made inkjet papers so I was still aware of them. It seems to me to be no coincidence that as Kodak die Fuji start bringing out quality cameras that people want to buy and their film sales are still strong. There must be more to it than that "bloke down the pub" type analysis but it will be interesting to see how exactly a company that democratised photography and were pre-eminent in pro, hobby and consumer photography just withered and died.

I may put some Fuji in this soon and go for a wander. I'll probably develop the film with Ilford chems. There must be a Kodachrome app for the iPhone.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.