Gloucester Cathedral

I woke up this morning with an urge to go to Gloucester. This doesn't happen that often. The last time I had the urge to go to was more than six years ago and the bike ride with Bruno to the outskirts didn't really count.

So there we were in the newly jazzed up docks and the retail outlet at about 11 this morning. It was deserted but we had a good look around and browsed briefly in the Helly Hansen shop where they had some spectacularly cut price extreme weather outdoor jackets which I could quite happily have purchased had I not got a jacket that does the job perfectly well.

So avoiding all temptation we walked to the Cathedral. We almost didn't go in but I'm glad we did. It's 1000 years old in its earliest form, it was previously a monastery and may now have been in ruins if it wasn't for the fact that Edward II lies here having been murdered at Berkeley Castle with that red hot implement ( a rumour that actually seems to have no basis in truth..!).

Anyway, so we got to this point and looked up by looking down. If you see what I mean?

Another day out complete. Gloucester is a funny place, plenty of history but just that - its best days seem behind it, sadly, but I hope I'm wrong.

The ones that got away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.