Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Cloud

I nipped around the corner to the grove this morning, video camera in hand, to see if I could get anything to work. The zoom is very useful, but for small subjects, the autofocus is a dead loss, as I have found out while collecting the video clips. But with video, you can get away with a lot more than you can with stills.

Unless the subject is resting on a large object that the camera can 'see', all you get is a blurry mess. However, clouds never let you down and even the most unassuming little fluffy can be processed into thunderous storm cloud.

I received a commission to design a new fishing lure yesterday. The guy wants a realistic looking shrimp with a special tail that causes wiggle action. It all sounds very simple, I mean, how big is a shrimp. It is only when you get up close that you realize how complex these little sea creatures are, however, my fee was agreed and so I have to get on with it.

First job was discovery, downloading a bunch of shrimp pics off the web, to formulate a design plan. Strange that you can never find the pic at the angle you need for the information, so it is now looking like prawns for tea, so that I can collect more reliable data from the real thing.

I have emailed back some preliminary ideas, outlining problems and offering solutions, so now I wait for some decisions to be made. It was just a pity he did not pick a craw, as I already have a couple of craw designs. Ah well, someone will ask me for a craw one day. I have actually done a few lures for this guy before and they were very successful, hence he has come back to me, that feels good. Here's a link to one of them.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.