Ancient grove

What a day!! Today I had the delight of teaching the whole school - the two full time teachers were away so it was just me and Hannah, the classroom assistant. We moved the big desks in and the older children joined us. We had a great time - Kandinsky part deux (may blip those latter, they are fantastic!) , a bit of reading and a bit of maths - the latter being the most challenging as topics ranged form learning how to write 5 (tricky) to equivalent fractions to perimeters to place value. This could be a taste of things to come if the government has its way. A one teacher school is possible but you would be dead on your feet! After lunch we all headed off for the swimming pool. Snow on the mountains and glorious views. I wasn't needed to assist so indulged in a quick sauna but got out before I had to jump in! Smallest boy joined us in the 'girls' and I was helping him and couldn't find his pants. He looked at me askance 'I dont wear any'! Fair enough.

On my way home I stopped off for a wander to inspect the old farm Travellersjoy and I looked at the other day - she posted an attractive image here . The old farm is a wonderful place, it has such a nice friendly tranquil vibe and I took loads of images but couldn't decide which one to use so take a peek at my flickr account. It was a toss up between the old door or the peeling paint. However, I got sidetracked by the boreen leading up to it- literally! There is a little stream and masses of old mossy walls and then some beautiful craggy trees and a mixture of odd stones. What do you think? Old field boundaries, stones cleared from the field or, and this is my favourite, an ancient burial spot. Probably a bit close to the stream for th elatter but it does have a magical mystical air.
Have a great weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.