Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Skating towards the Sunset

Ice skaters on the frozen Damsterdiep in Ten Boer, Groningen, The Netherlands. Even more picturesque in large...

Today started very early: I was going to capture the sunrise at Fochteloërveen together with Herman, Niels and Ton. At 6.25, Ton arrived and we drove to Fochtelo in Ton's car. Unfortunately, Ton's car broke down and we had to wait for almost one hour before help arrived, meaning we witnessed the sunrise at a gas station.

When the car was repaired we continued and met Herman and Niels who had a total blast capturing the sunrise on a frozen lake. The light was still great and both Ton and I managed to get some nice shots at the location as well. Be sure to visit their journals as well.

I decided to go for this shot of two speedskaters on the frozen Damsterdiep in Ten Boer, the village where I live. I can't think of a scene more Dutch than this... More photos of ice skating fun and also some pictures of Fochteloërveen can be found in a new blog entry on my website.

Thanks for all your kind comments, favourites and stars on yesterday's blip; much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.