Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Blch!

Okay, in fairness, "Blch" is not a word you can use in Scrabble. Still, it's a great word, isn't it? Describes all sorts of disdain, dislike, disgust, all the "dis's". I have decreed that it is a word (in Debbi's Dictionary!)

I am off to a trustees meeting today, so not sure what time I'll get back. Besides, I already know that this is my shot for today. Up at the crack of dawn, showered, fluffed, tea in hand and seated in the front row for Bistro viewing. Doesn't matter that we got a frost last night, because my front row seat is INSIDE! Seymour (or maybe it was Sylvia) showed up, along with the blue jays, house finches, chickadees, titmice, and one stoic goldfinch. And then ... be still my heart! ... a Mockingbird! Yes, The Mocker!!! And he brought his tongue!! Does life GET any better? Yes, I know, not the sharpest shot - but sometimes it is less about the technical perfection than it is about the moment. This shot is technically a bit better, but nothing can beat the tongue.

I have only recently learned that Mockers are very territorial birds, actively defending their territories against other birds, cats, dogs, even humans. That said, my Mocker seems to be a little slow on the defense thing - he/she is easily spooked by even smaller birds. It is possible I have a sissy-mocker on my hands. Interesting factoid - male mockers can learn about 200 different songs. Howe about THAT for impressing the lady-mockers?

So, there you have it, a mocker-blip. Happy Tuesday, people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.