Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sometimes you feel like a nut (hatch)!

Does anyone remember that commercial from quite a few years ago for Almond Joy candy bars?

"Sometimes you feel like a nut....
Sometimes you don't....
Almond Joy's got nuts...
Mounds don't!


Okay, now if my master plan has worked, I won't be the only one who can't get this silly tune out of my head!!

For those who aren't familiar with this little bird, she's a White-Breasted Nuthatch or Sitta Carolinensis. They are very tame little birds and will fly right up to the feeders when I am only a few feet away. The males have a slightly darker cap and nape. They make a funny little "ank" noise when they are feeding, very cute. It was a toss up today between this little lady, a tufted titmouse, a handsome house finch, or puffed up blue jay. Hard to choose, but I haven't gotten a good shot of a nuthatch in a while, so she won.

I've been waiting all day for the snow to arrive - got my hopes up at about 3:30 when a few lazy flakes drifted down ... but then NOTHING. The AccuWeather forecast said we would get "a bit of snow"... what the heck does "a bit" mean anyway???? Is that a Doppler thing? Bit...sheesh.

It is time for me to get my brain scanned again. This is always a freaky time of year for me - when I start imagining that the "blob" has grown back and all other sorts of dire things. Truth is that it has been almost 4 years and each year that passes makes a recurrence less likely. Still, I'll be glad when it is behind me. So bear with me over the next few days - I reserve the right to be as silly as I like!

Now, I am off to roast some butternut squash for a Thai-spiced butternut squash soup.... If only I had some of Lorenzo's bread to go with it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.