earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Return to Winter

My trip to Ireland is over and, as you can see, I am back in Yorkshire. The snow is mostly disappeared now but pockets still remain in places sheltered from the sun. It's not quite as cold as when I left, but it still feels distinctly raw compared to the balmy weather I enjoyed on the Sheepshead Peninsular.

Just as I began the trip disastrously by leaving my wallet behind en route to the airport and very nearly missing the flight, I ended it with a bit of disaster too! Last night, checking the time of my evening flight, I discovered to my horror that I was booked on a 7am flight from Cork rather than a 7pm one! I have absolutely no idea how I conspired to do that but it meant that I repaid all that wonderful hospitality by forcing my host to rise at 4am in order to get me to the airport on time. I was mortified. I hope she'll forgive me one day!

It was a magical few days break, a little oasis of calm weather with great walking, rich conversation and wonderful dinners. Thanks once more to Travellersjoy, and also to Freespiral and Lulubelle for looking after me so well and cooking some sensationally good food. They are very special people.

I arrived back home a little short on sleep and rather weary. Not being expected back until the evening I didn't tell anyone at work I was home early and went for a spin on the bike out to Burnsall and back. I had hoped that might revive me but it seems to have had the opposite effect! I'm now feeling totally zonked. This was taken near Barden Bridge on the way out, from a very similar position to this shot taken last August. It's quite a contrast.

I've been overwhelmed by all your lovely comments while I've been away, sharing in my little trip. That has made it even more special. I cannot express how extraordinary I find this whole community to be. I need to cook some for food for me and the boys now before grabbing an early night, so I'll look forward to catching up with you tomorrow night with a bit more time and energy. Have a great evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.