The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Drops

When I mentioned the first snowdrops appearing a few weeks back All around my Life asked me to blip one. After several years in Bahrain, she has missed seeing them. There is a wood near Beetham a few miles from here where there is a dense carpet of them around a ruined house, and as the house tumbles down, they multiply year by year. I've tried photographs that capture the sweep of them leading up to the house, but the light is never right, and I can't do them justice.

These are in the garden, established in the new lawn that I planted a few years ago. It started a drab morning, raining first thing as I went out to feed the blackbirds. But then the sun came out, and it looked like time to dust off the macro lens after its winter hibernation, and have another go at a snowdrop photo during that brief time in the morning when the sun shines on this part of the garden. I've never seen these snowdrops fully open, perhaps because they get so little direct sunlight.

I mentioned the blackbirds. I'm worried for the Boss, it's been four mornings now since I last saw her. She is usually so reliable, waiting for me as I take the ground food out every morning. If there is any news, I shall provide an update.

Sorry, Mr Webb, it's a snowdrop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.