The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sharp Edge

Simon and Matt are stood to the right looking up towards Sharp Edge on Blencathra, one of the most impressive ridge walks in the Lake District. Above them a few people are making their way to the start of the arete. High on the ridge, if this is viewed in large, other figures should be visible.

It was a glorious blue sky day, much of the snow in the Lake District has disappeared in the last week. But Blencathra and neighbouring Skiddaw were both still dusted with icing sugar at the higher elevations. Sharp Edge wasn't icy enough to require crampons, but there was ice and wet snow, which was challenging enough. A couple following us were struggling, and the second of the pair was doing most of the ridge on hands and knees.

I've not climbed the ridge in these conditions before. The last time I was here was almost 7 years ago, and it took Wifie a long time to forgive me for that occasion, a day of poor visibility and slippery wetness. I'll say no more!

Back at sea level or thereabouts, the good news was that this morning I went out to feed the blackbirds, and the Boss was the first to appear - the first definite sighting in 5 days. I'm guessing as the mornings have been getting lighter, the blackbirds have been gathering earlier, only to give up when I didn't appear for another hour. So, I shall feed them first thing from now on.

One more bird for the year list today - a pair of stonechats, which takes me on to 92 species.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.