Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

The Nest

Back to my neighborhood park today - this little cottage borders the playground area. I have the sense that this is an art studio. Or at least the resident is very artistic.

Speaking as one who has my own little cottage, these are wonderful spaces, and there are many of them in Portland. Some are considered "mother-in-law apartments" and are serving as small self-contained dwellings. Others are guest cottages or studios. Most, like ours, are converted from old sheds or garages.

We sometimes use ours as a guest house, but mostly it's a "room of my own" where I escape from the noise and chaos of four toddlers in the main house. I also use it as my art and music studio, extra kitchen, nap space and reading nook. It's tucked into the back yard under the shade of the apple and walnut trees, so it's cool in the summer. It doesn't have a name, but it too is my little nest.

Looks good in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.