Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Rushing - Hellesdon Mill Weirs

For a bigger rush see it LARGE!

I don't know quite what it is about me and rushing/tumbling water. No matter whether waterfalls, cascades, weirs - they all entrance me, make me feel exhilarated, soothe my soul, give me a massive rush.
I remember reading once that apparently it's a common phenomena - the action of the water apparently ionises the surrounding air, causing a feeling of euphoria.
Whatever it is, I just adore it. I can imagine the buzz one must feel when near to the 3200ft Angel Falls in Venezuela (a dream of mine is to go there).

Today when finished at my Friday morning school I had to go elsewhere before returning to County Hall, and my route took me through Hellesdon and past the road leading to the mill - in my last job I was based at Hellesdon hospital and know that area well, so the mill and strech of river below it was a frequent lunchtime haunt of mine. The main drop of the weirs is on the other side of the bridge - which is private property, so unfortunately one can't get onto it to see that side. The river is the Wensum, not too far upstream before it flows into the Yare and becomes part of it.

At one point I went right up to the bridge and just stared down at THIS SIGHT for several minutes, as near as I could get to it.

Here's the BRIDGE, WEIRS & THE MILL ITSELF from a distance.

Needless to say, when we moved into our cottage over 25 years ago and put a pond in the garden, my first criteria was that there HAD to be a waterfall - only about 18" high, but at least I have one! And the sound of that tumbling water always captivates me ..... maybe one day I'll get to Venezuela (I can always dream, lol)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.