Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

A Room of One's Own

A few weeks ago when I blipped The Nest, there was discussion on my journal about my own cottage / studio. Since this morning is probably the last sunny day we'll have for a while, I thought I'd take a photo of it while there were some nice shadows and the yard is relatively clean and dry, with even a few daffodils in bloom. It's shaded by the apple tree and our neighbors' huge English walnut tree.

I spend most of my time in my little cottage when Laurie has 3 or 4 toddlers in the house during the day. It's a wonderful way for me to have a private, quiet space when I need it. And I can go in the house (or in the summer, the yard) and play with toddlers, take photos of them, get my baby fix. I use the cottage as my library and reading spot; nap room; music studio and art space. We also use it as a guest cottage - it's self-contained, with a small kitchen, sleeping area, loft, even a composting toilet.

If you look closely in the window (or enLARGE the photo), you can see Liza; she's sitting on the back of the couch and wondering why she isn't outside with me. She loves her back yard, and keeps us safe from squirrels and neighbor cats.

Next: the inside. Just as soon as I give it a good cleaning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.