Autumn in Cathedral Square

Best seen large.

Today was one of the rare occasions that the public have been allowed into the centre of the city since the big earthquake just over a year ago. My son and I went to see for ourselves. We arrived early before the crowds. It seemed so strange wandering through the narrow alleyway between high pipe-and-wire barricades into a place that is normally forbidden. Into a place that was barely recognisable.

The first thing I noticed in the Square, beyond the wire, was that the trees were already turning for autumn, as though they were giving in early. Then seeing the long dry grass at the side of the cathedral was a shock.

I have seen photos of the ruined cathedral so it was no surprise seeing it. However, photos tell only part of the story. Being there was different. There was an emotional response that was unexpected, of a sinking feeling, of things turning pale. It was very quiet. A jack hammer was rattling on a nearby demolition site, filling the air with the smell of concrete dust, but in the Square there was just the soft shuffle of feet and the murmur of voices. Mostly people stared in silence.

When I was young I lived quite close to the Square. I could see the cathedral from my gate. When I was coming or going in the dark I would always look up at the great rose window casting glorious colour into the night. Now there is a cavernous hole where the rose window used to be.

The Bishop of Christchurch has announced that the building will be taken down to a height of two or three metres to make it safe while a decision is made about a replacement. There are a lot of heritage-lovers who are determined that will not happen. We shall see.

Do look at my son's blip. It was the best photo taken by my camera today.



Today is the first anniversary of Japan's earthquake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.