Trip to Inangahua

I went in to work today - trying to catch up on some of the work that seems to be rapidly accumulating.

Kiwilizzie and I had planned to go for a lunch time drive to Inangahua on a bit of a blip trip, and becuase I'd been told that the new owners at the cafe there were serving good food. I forgot about it (absorbed in work) until she texted me about 2.30, so we didn't head down there until 3.

I was pretty hungry by the time we got there as I'd missed lunch and it was almost 4 p.m. by then. Happy to say that it was good food, so I came away satisfied.

On the way home we took a couple of detours hoping to find new ways down to the Buller to get new perspectives on our river. We did manage it at our third detour, so we spent a little time at a spot neither of us had ever been to before - Kiwilizzie even had a wee paddle, but I had to forgo that as my foot is still bandaged.

Anyway, heading back up the track to the car this wee guy came to visit me. While I was taking the photos I thought it was a baby robin, but looking at them now I'm not so sure. It seems more likely to be a tit, but I'm not sure about the colouring. I've sent a couple of shots off to my resident bird identifier but am not likely to hear back from him for a day or two.

Can anyone out there identify it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.