a town called E.

By Eej

Duck Delight II



Last night's shenanigans are best left unmentioned - suffice it to say it was a total blast. And a man that is not my husband bought me a rose! ;)

Feeling a little delicate this morning but well enough to do some chores and then cycle around the lake. In shorts and a tee. In March! Our first stop was at the little public access park where 3 ducks got so excited to see me they came running out of the water. And then the girl bit my finger when I tried to give her a piece of bread. Not yesterday's poor patient thankfully - a different finger.
I'm not entirely certain, but it feels like these guys were the Yahoos from long ago - this long to be precise. If they are, they clearly have ditched Theodore and found themselves a girlfriend.

Just as I switched to the 50mm (as I was handfeeding them - and not entirely by choice!) they went back into the water. We went on to Maple Island which has opened up again. After the big storm last July the playground was destroyed and in the weeks after it was intermittently open and closed only to close completely a few days after September 4th. Which is when we were there and I lost the tripod attachment I keep on my camera.
Jokingly I said to the Beloved: "It would be kinda cool if it was still here!"
He promptly walked over to the tree stump behind our favourite bench and sure enough; there it was. A bit rusty but perfectly usable :)

We saw some breeding geese, a lot of people fishing, a douche-y guy who said things about bikes on the island and then there was a little boy who was petting a fish he had just caught. I somehow doubt that fish is going to end up on a plate :)

What a lovely weekend this was. Lovely, lovely, lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.