Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

An Equal and Opposite Reaction

is the title of this sculpture by Sarah Sze hanging in the Opera/Ballet House in Seattle.
We went to the matinee of New Works by our Pacific NW Ballet today - it was an exciting performance - the older I get the more I am amazed at what those gorgeous young bodies can do, and the variety of the choreography. Since it was daylight, I brought my camera and took all sorts of pictures of this monumental piece. As you can see it's made from pieces from Home Depot (hardware store) - electrical cords, plastic cups, measuring tapes, ladders, levels, plastic ties, ferns etc etc - it looks different from the bottom (here) and from each level as you climb up, and one never tires of finding new surprises and interpretations - the artist was inspired by music and dance, and I think there is a bit of humor here too. One can get mesmerized by it all. The metal grids could possibly represent the the notations in music and dance. ? I know it's not possible to get a sense of the whole thing - I blipped it once before at night with just the iphone which you could see here. or today on flicker here..
A fine day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.