The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Great White Egret - The Next Big Thing

After yesterdays journey West along the M4 to Llanelli Wetlands, today I made slightly shorter journey East to Uskmouth and my second home of Newport Wetlands. I met up with my new mucker Nigel. The aim of the day, to pick up some summer migrant ticks. My year list has been stuck on 87 for too many weeks now, and West Wales didn't come up with anything new.

We headed out on to the reserve to sound of Chiffchaffs all around, and it didn't take too long to spot one in the gorse bushes. Hopefully photo opportunities will come along on a visit in the near future, as they do like sing on a high perch in the open. There were also an impressive number of Wrens in full voice, I blipped back in January how loud these tiny little birds sing, it never ceases to amaze me!

We also heard on arrival that the power-station helicopter had spooked the Bittern on the reserve and out into the sea. Fortunately, whilst we were watching a fairly quite lagoon from the hide, we watched the Bittern fly back into the reed beds. It made for a fantastic sight!

We then got the nod that there was a scarcity at the Goldcliff end of the reserve. A Great White Egret had arrived. Like the Glossy Ibis, it was too good a chance to miss to see this large bird. Fortunately it was still showing when we got there. Also, it doesn't move much, so when you are using a 500mm lens, in half decent light, right on the edge of its range, you can still get a shot like this. Not award winning, but you can clearly see what it is, and believe me it was along way off!

It is hoped the Great White Egret may be the next bird to spread to our shores as Global Warming takes effect, following it's smaller cousin, the Little Egret. A scan around the lagoon gave you a good indication of the size of this bird. Both a Heron and Litte Egret were present, and both looked like toy birds next to it.

We left the lagoon warmed by early spring sun, and me up 92 year ticks, with a Black Tailed Godwit, and a Water and Meadow Pipit being added to my little black book!

I couldn't decide between this photo or this one of it hunting. I chose this one as it give you more indication of its height.

A short 20 second video of it is here on YouTube. As always, slightly wobbly as I was on using a monopod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.