The Estuary

Sitting under the shade of the tall pine trees this is the view I admire.

I can hear the the waves rolling upon the beach just over the sand dunes on the right. The calls of terns, mallards and shags and the honks of black swans are carried along with the gentle breeze. The smell of the sea salt mingled with the fragrance of the pine trees come together with the musky smell of the estuary. The tide is on the turn and the estuary gradually fills, quietly the sea seeps in, meeting the river and covering the area where the person is walking, leaving the grasses in the foreground surrounded in water and tiny crabs darting back to their homes. As I look out over the estuary, the sea mist still hovers around the hills, it is so hot today as I sit in my short sleeves on this autumn afternoon.

A place to come and unwind, to finish the working week and to enjoy the warmth of this autumn day.

Enjoy your weekend all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.