Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

COOKIE

Neil phoned today at about 1.30am - he knew I would be still up. It was 12.30pm in Australia. He was on a train, with all his worldly goods in a backpack, moving from his house in Sunshine to stay with some friends in another part of Melbourne. He will be sleeping on their sofa to save money till he gets another job. If he gets a job quickly he may stay in Melbourne a bit longer - if not he will go to Sydney. In any case he has to be in Sydney by 7th May as he has booked his flight to Auckland in New Zealand for that date. We had a good chat for about 40 mins. Even though he sends a message via Facebook almost every day it's great to hear his voice now and again.

I was going to have a lie in this morning but was woken up around 8.30am by someone ringing the bell and banging on the front door. I sleepily opened the door to a bloke asking me to move my car from the road as he wanted to get a large removal van into the street. I don't own a car - the offending car belonged to my next door neighbour. I was not amused. Too early to stay up so I went back to bed.

Very foggy this morning but this afternoon the sun came out and it was quite pleasant. I decided to get out into the back garden and give the lawn it's first cut of the year. Didn't take long so I did a bit of pruning as well. Cookie joined me but he didn't stay long. Tried to take a few photos of him but kept getting the back of him or he had just turned his head when I pressed the shutter. Managed to get this one half decent shot just before he made his exit from the garden under the back fence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.