earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Riding out at St.Ives

At its best viewed large. Recommended today!

The weather remains completely fabulous and it was hard to have to spend most of it office-bound, but I had some urgent things to sort out and there was no choice but to get my head down. The presentation that had to be postponed last week is now scheduled for Wednesday and I still need to fix some minor bugs tonight ready for a run-through tomorrow. I can't complain, though, for I did get out for a short mountain bike ride at lunchtime, going along the canal to Bingley and then into the St.Ives Estate.

This place is a little gem of managed woodland with lots of paths and bridleways, although it's quite a pull up the hill from the canal. The light was sensational today, with no morning fog and much less haze than yesterday. It was quite strange to get the early train into the office and see frost on the fields, yet by lunchtime you could easily lay out and sunbathe. It felt so good to be in shorts and shirtsleeves again.

I'm taking up an idea prompted by the great Goatee Booknerd and posting a link to another photograph here, taken from exactly the same spot as this blip. It's a wonderful illustration of the close juxtaposition in this part of the world of the natural and built landscapes. I think I will try to do this again. It provides a great sense of context, and often in a surprising way. Perhaps it's an idea that might catch on. Perhaps you could think about trying the same thing, and let me know if you do. I think the aim is to come with an entirely unexpected reverse shot. So thanks for that one Mr. Goatee.

Thanks for the wonderful reception to yesterday's tree. It seems like you haven't quite tired of them yet.

PS Yes, believe your eyes, there is a person in this blip, and a horse and a dog even. I felt adventurous today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.