Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

House Finch Courtship

Well, love is in the air here, that is for sure. This morning (since it is raining), I decided to watch the bird feeders while having my morning coffee. I witnessed a never before seen display between a male and female House Finch. I had been in the kitchen window and noticed a beautiful bright orange male house finch getting seed from the feeders by the window.

When I walked into the family room to watch the birds out of the back windows, I immediately saw him again. He flew to the little tree and presented a female finch the food he had just gleaned from the kitchen window feeder. She opened her beak wide, and he put in the food....they did this about 5 times, as I snapped photos.

They are not the best photos, but it was the most interesting display I've ever seen. I checked online and this is what this was all about --- "During courtship, the male will touch bills with the female. He may then present the female with choice bits of food, and if she mimics the behavior of a hungry chick, he may actually feed her."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.