Funny Face

Another whitebanded orbweb spider, Zealaranea crassa.

This is one of three that live in adjacent carrot seed heads. I have been observing them for several days. The other two are quite drab greenish grey, but the markings on this female fascinate me. The leering face seems to change from hostile to amused depending on the angle it is viewed.

I have tried a number of times to get a decent photo of her, but she tucks herself into the dim light of the seed head. Today she was out finishing off a meal of a hapless grass grub beetle (a pest), which made it possible to get a few shots of her. Note how she has one back leg monitoring activity in her web. It was hung with a lot more raindrops than can be seen here.

I had a laugh at myself today. I often watch the cat doing her rounds, going around the garden and beyond, sniffing at salient points, a rock, a low branch on a bush, a clump of grass etc. She gets frustrated if it's raining and will go out as soon as possible to carry out her inspection. I am the same, only I peer into nooks and crannies, and raindrops, rather than sniffing, and I have my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.