Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Decay, part Gawd-knows-how-many

I've been taken with this wall/shed/building/thing since I started doing clinics at Katoomba. It's right next door to the clinic, backing on to the carpark. I thought to take a photos it a few weeks back, but couldn't get it all in frame. Today I decided to use my shiny new iPhone 4S to photograph it, but I took my Lumix as well, just in case something else came to mind.

And it did: I took just this part of it, which I think is probably more interesting than the whole wall.

I had a lot of trouble processing it - or more accurately, Filterstorm had a lot of trouble applying my processing. Many crashes - related to the layers, or the masking, or some combination thereof. Finally got it to work, which made me happy, as the version I had done with Snapseed (in anticipation of continued failure with Filterstorm), while good, was somewhat bland in comparison.

Addit: I just popped int the app store, and as I thought might be the case, there was already another update available for Filterstorm, which fixed the crash. = yet another recommendation to get FS if you have an iPad. 8)

Here 'tis large.

Also, I went outside last night (after the lad stopped squalling) and found a truly wonderful sky. I grabbed camera and tripod, and had a go at capturing some of it. I found that focusing on infinity does not work. However, despite everything being a bit blobby, I'm quite pleased with the picture I got of Orion - or most of Orion, at any rate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.