Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

American Kestrel Near North Plains Oregon

The rain finally broke for a bit, so I hopped in the car and took a drive out west of here! I found some neat old homes and buildings, and an antique wagon in front of a house! Also on top of this shed I saw a peacock....heard him first, and turned around to check it out. He was quite beautiful and posed for me several times.

Then drove a bit towards the south and captured my first American Kestrel. At the time I had no idea what it was...it seemed like maybe a larger bird like a robin, but it's color was very different. I took lots of shots of it sitting on a wire, and when I got home I was able to identify it by it's bold mustache. I imagine this is a male, but possibly an immature male, as it still has heavy checks on it's belly.

To see more of my day's photos, visit my flickr page, click here!

To see my hummingbird from later today, Click Here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.