Coming Home

Late this afternoon my son drove me to Christchurch to see the doctor. My foot is still very swollen and sore, but I had an anti-tetanus shot, have antibiotics, and got a flu jab as well.

Coming home we were driving into the sunset. There were skeins of stubble fire smoke swirling all over the sky. Black trees were silhouetted in the foreground, airbrushed mountains spread along the horizon, and many groups of gulls and long-necked shelducks flew in various directions.

We went a short way up a gravel road, hoping to get a better view of the sunset, but as it was nothing special we turned back. Suddenly in front of us was the most marvellous sight just below the moon. A brilliant white blob about three times the size of Venus was speeding past, leaving a long trail of sparkles. Then the blob turned turquoise and exploded in a shower of sparks like fireworks. This took about four seconds, but the tail lingered for a couple of minutes.

My son says I can get a nail in my foot any time if it leads to such an amazing consequence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.