It felt odd this morning putting on my boots, warm coat, gloves and Meester Bond style fur hat, but they were all necessary.

Scarlett Haberdashery and I met for a long chat over tea and scones. As a result of extensive research, and her a brilliant baker, we can safely say that John Lewis make the best ever scones. I like to research things properjy and give great consideration to them before I make bold statements like that, so be rest assured we have done the research.

The shop also had a wonderful range of little Easter baskets and chicks - so very colourful and sweet. Just what I need for the weekend.

We passed a stand of Olympic goodies - I'm not really a fan of merchandising I generally find it cheap and trashy. This was no exception. That 'International' mascot one eyed alien type thing is pure ugly. No-ne can really think it's a work of genius can they? Infact it would appear the Olympic bods hate it enough to have an International mascot and a British one - a red white and blue lion. Why do we need two? Isn't that just confusing? Or are my steroids kicking in?

We did however find a display of the prettiest, classy looking Diamond Jubilee merchandise. Very tasteful and all street party themed. For a fleeting moment I thought about a Royal Wedding Tea Party - come in your dresses type affair. I wonder if Elizabeth and Philip will be having a right Royal Knees up and buying in the paper plates and cake stands from John Lewis? Saves Wills and Kate doing the washing up I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.