The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Train Traveller

1 trip to the furniture store
+1 camera
+1 mirrored glass window
+1 pedestrian
+1 train
= Blip 100

What started as a bit of a lark to push my self to use my camera for 30 straight days became an enchanting journey for me and a wonderful destination. Day 30 quickly passed and next thing I knew I was at day 90 in what seemed to be a week. By any and all measures, I have had no right being here at all and my priorities have been, at times, skewed by blipdom distraction. You see, on most days, I have more than enough to keep me busy in my professional and family life. This has been a luxury I can ill afford.

Yet here I am at day 100 and I never would have imagined that I would have become as impassioned as I did over a photo journal blog spot. Obviously, when you have done something for 100 days in a row (and for many of you multitudes of this modest number) there is a reason. And I believe these reasons is "in and among us". The IN, being our internal and individual love for photography and, AMONG, being the care and compassion for the art and humanity of others. It is hard to believe that through some cyber connection these special emotions can be shared and embraced by a collective group, most of whom will never press the flesh of the hand of another.

There was something quite special which took place for me over the last 100 days. My "I must meet before I die" list grew by a handful of people. And my bucket list of "places I must see" grew by the dozen. Finally, my dreams of what one can do with a camera have grown exponentially though I now fully realize that I have more equipment than I have knowledge and more desire than I have talent or time.

The most special thing about Blipfoto is not the images though many are truly and uniquely brilliant and amazing. Nor is it the gifted verse though I have read passages which are library worthy and novel bound. It is not the technology which takes a simple photo and makes it look surreal nor the crops which play with the mind nor the macros which defy the human eye. These things have all been great and have mattered greatly. However, the thing that made blip so special for me is this: It is the hearts and minds and souls of fellow blippers. You, as individuals and as a community, are what made this place so special for me over the past three plus months.

I could go on and on as I often do. But, to write any more words would be for me and not for you, with the exception of one over used phrase but, this time, it is said with great depth of purpose and meaning: Thank you!.



Side note: It turns out last night that our wi-fi was having issues. Thanks for allowing me to have a hissy fit. When I take on a task, I am all in as they say at the gaming tables. This persistence..... it is my blessing and it is my curse

Post blip addition: I decided around 20 blips ago not to recomment unless it was absolutely worthy or necessary. You all have enought to do and I hope you know how grateful I am for your comments. However, I hope to, eventually, respond to most everyone of you because you have overwhelmed me on this nominal achievement. If I do not do it here, I intend to say thanks on your journal entry. Your words today are characteristic of why I love blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.