Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Extremely...knocked up!

Well, well, well ... If you have a look at this LARGE you will see that this squirrel is nursing, i.e., she's knocked up. I am blaming Seymour, that scamp!

When I made my way downstairs this morning, this one was gobbling peanuts as quickly as possible so I snapped of a few shots of her acrobatics, thinking they'd be amusing. It wasn't until I had a closer look that I saw that she's "with child(ren)". This is not Extreme Sylvia, by the way, as Sylvia has a notch on her right ear, where as this one has a spot on her left ear. In fact, if you're in agreement, I think we'll name her Dot. Extreme Dot.

Again, not a technically great picture, but how often does one see squirrel teats?

Now I am wondering if the blue jays I saw with their heads stuck in the knot hole of one of the trees was actually looking for a stored cache of seeds, or looking to poach a baby squirrel. That is the downside of jays, they'll eat baby squirrels, baby birds, seeds, just about anything. I have to keep reminding myself that nature has her own plan, and some creatures don't survive. However, I would so much like to see some baby squirrels - do you know, I've never seen a baby squirrel? The mind boggles.

Thanks for the stars and faves on the Mossy Chickadee yesterday! I took a peek in the cottage and the nest is coming along quite well, now about 2.5 inches deep with moss. Activity to/from the cottage continues with frequent breaks at the Bistro. My best guess is that she will start laying sometime next week.

Hubs made it home ahead of schedule yesterday and we enjoyed a quiet evening with some wine and a wheat berry salad - then early to bed. So good to have him home.

Big project at the in-laws this weekend re-roofing the patio, so who knows what I'll blip tomorrow. However, there is a big ground hog living in their back yard...

For those who celebrate it, Happy Good Friday - and for everyone else, Happy Friday!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.