The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Lone Oak

Today was one of those days at tho office where the weight of the world came crashing down upon one's shoulders. As hard as I try to be him, Atlas I am not. Around noon, I was ready to crumble under my desk and curl comfortably into the fetal position with my thumb securely in my mouth. I wasn't even worried what my co- workers would think.

But, I resisted the urge to be another helpless suffering infant and carried on. Minute by minute, the day progressed. Insurmountable problems found answers, immovable people moved and light appeared.

At the end of the day, I had to drive four hours north for a breakfast meeting in the morning. I passed this oak which was standing quite alone in a field. It appeared to have gone through hard times itself. It was weathered but alive. Broken but not dead. The stress of winter had lifted and, within it, life was ready to spring free. I knew that if I returned to it in a few months, its damaged limbs would be obscured by magnificent leaves. And two months after that, its colors would set my heart ablaze.

It reminded me of the endurance and viability of the human spirit. Tonight, as I sleep, I will think of that tree.

Have a great Wednesday........

Thanks for your visits on the MLB blip. I never thought that baseball would be of interest to you. You are all too kind. For those that mentioned cricket, I want to see a game quite badly.

I have been very focused on work and not around blip much. I am not apologizing but just telling you I miss seeing your images as much as I did when work was slow.


Converted this on the new iPad app using a few filters for the retro pan washed darkroom look. Not perfect but I am trying to push myself to do mono. I haven't tried it enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.