A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Tragic Love stories

This is the book I am reading at the moment. I am normally one for works of fiction (usually historical - ancient egypt, ancient china and japan) although I have recently taken to reading historical biographies.

My great Auntie Rose gave me this book last year along with a couple of other historical biographies (one of Princess Grace of Monaco which I am yet to read).

This is so compelling, and so full of intrigue, political back stabbing and that real sense of a time passed, when duty and honour were the most important things, even if that meant hurting family and in this case exiling a brother and heir to the throne, because he fell in love and married a woman who was not ever going to be fit for the throne (a divorcee! we are of course evil creatures us women - especially those of us who are divorced!!)

I'm only half way through it and I know that its going to get worse and it truly is tragic - fictional works cannot ever compete with the extremes that we humans have put each other through for all of these centuries!

am all packed and ready to drive to London tomorrow afternoon, after driving from North Manchester, down to Crewe, then getting on the M6 just around rush hour....oh what fun! It will be worth it to see my bro, and my fabulous sister in law for a couple of nights. Maybe one day they might move a bit closer then it will be easier! And as for public transport - HA....it would cost me in the region of £300 return for James and I to travel by train for the weekend - I could get us flights to spain for less than that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.