Let There Be Light

By solli

Light

at the end of the tunnel!

A few years ago I had my roof completely replaced and it was an awful experience. I don't recommend having it done but it was needed since the previous owners had layered three sets of asphalt shingles over the original cedar shakes and the most recent layer was blowing away with every storm.

When a tear down is performed, wooden lathes, soot and shingles fall directly into the attic interior. The mess is horrific. If you store your possessions up there you have to protect them by laying tarps over everything. Once the roofers have left, cleanup becomes a labor intensive job since there's dirt and lathe all over the tarps and the floor.

I started working on the cleanup about two years ago - using a huge wet and dry vacuum, masks and gloves but I was so overwhelmed I had to stop. My next door neighbor had her roof done six years ago and she told me she hasn't set foot in her her attic since then!

Today was a ten hour day. Mike wiped down the tops of the bins and other surfaces and pitched the bags out the window into the afternoon sky. This is how the picture came out, his head disappearing into the light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.