Let There Be Light

By solli

Dogwoods

My folks planted two dogwoods on the front lawn of our Bailey Avenue house for my sister and me. One was white, the other pink. I loved to sit underneath them and play with my dolls.

I planted three dogwoods for my kids; two pink and one white. The kids have complained that the tree is in the way of their backyard pitching, the one in the front of the house is hitting the power lines, and the third sent my neighbor into a tailspin when I first planted it many years ago. She thought the root system was going to break through her foundation, but dogwoods don't have intrusive root systems.

I've learned quite a bit about these trees and I can only hope that the kids will think to plant one for their children some day, but just not in the middle of their backyard!

Today was a good day, I put ten hours into the attic and now I can see the floor!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.