The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Happy Hour

It is always after five somewhere. Have a glass of wine.

This is an emergency blip of the emergency locater watch my wife gifted me to be used when I am in the most remote parts of the wilderness. She said it would help rescue workers find me if my plane goes down or my boat tips over. But, I think she just wants to produce the corpse for the life insurance company ;-)

A few years ago whilst I was in the shower, my daughter pulled the panic knob out. As I emerged from the shower, the chirp of the ELT was filling the house and a plane was flying circles over the cabin. Dazed and confused, my daughter arrived in my bathroom with a stunned look and said?."what WAS this lever for?" I quickly dialed the FAA to call off the search. A few weeks later, despite my repeated explanations that a child just made a mistake, the FAA fined me for an "Unwarranted Deployment". I love fines, they accomplish so much! Well, at least I know it works and I hope it is never used again.

But this blip is not about the watch, it is about the process. Today was comprised mostly of pissy rain with extremely flat light so, no outside blipping was possible done and I did not want do another indoor flower or food blip. Anyway, I have wanted to try a long exposure shot using only a flashlight as a light source. A few weeks ago, I viewed an image of a stainless steel sculpture captured by a professional artist which was illuminated in complete darkness solely by a $2.50 flashlight. It was amazing. This blip is not, but, I am not a pro and it is a start.

I used a mirror, a white box and an LED light and a WB setting to give it a cold, steely blue tone. Not sure I will try it again but it was fun to experiment today as I watched the storms roll through. In BIG, you can see that the minute hand changed positions just before the 30 second exposure elapsed.

I hope you all have a great week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.