BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Presenting .............. Miss Juliet.

A white Diascia (Juliet is the variety).

Diascias (a herb although normally grown as a bedding plant) are native to southern Africa and come in many colours ..... they are also known as "Twinspur" which refers to the two spurs on the back of the flower. These spurs contain an oil which is collected by certain species of bees (not sure if we have them in the UK) - these bees have unusually long forelegs for collecting the oil.

The weather is horrendous today - cold, rainy and blowy - so the kitchen was my photographic studio (again) - I resisted rain droplets on the petals today!! (just).

I think that the little bud in the top corner is thinking "One day, when I have opened up, I will be as beautiful as you are"

This shot was cropped, darkened and sharpened slightly.
Nice (but a little "noisy") on > large <


NIKON D90 : f/6.3 : 1/180" : ISO 400 : EV -1.7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.