Robin Stew

One bad thing about being the cook in the family...is deciding what to fix. It seems to me that I just keep cooking the same things over and over.Tedious and boring at times.

A change was in order. I grabbed my Red Ryder BB gun that I have yet to fire, and headed for the state park. "Where's my orange vest? Where's my Elmer Fudd hat? Can a chihauhau flush out robins?"

The plan was for robin stew or robin fricassee. First...I would have to find out what fricassee is. (I just like to say it.) "Fricassee-e-e...Fricassaw-w-w-w...Fricassee-e-e-e...Fricassaw-saw-saw-saw-saw-saw!!! (My spell checker is going nuts!!!)

The way I had it figured...was that I would need 8-9 robins for the 2 of us. Pluck 'em, skin 'em, boil 'em up, then add some celery, onions, and carrots... maybe a clove of garlic. Tell Lisa it's chicken.

The best laid plans..."What do you mean...it's a safety zone? There he is...perched for my shot! What about my stew?'

Instead of experimenting with a new dish...I guess I'll have Lisa take me out to Culvers, a burger and custard place. Just for fun...I think I'll ask the little girl at the cash register if they have robin stew.

On my flickr page is another robin, and an eating cowbird. Grubs and grasshoppers. Now...there's a menu!

Click on LARGE for a better look at the target bird. Our state bird.

Look to the right at my year ago thumbnail to see my little grandson Easter bunny. He's so cute! Click on it to bring it up.















Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.